Everything I Am

A Little Room of My Own. A Place for Me to Create.

Maker I am January 15, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hilaryemma @ 2:36 pm

I am really into making things these days.  It all started during Thanksgiving when I really wanted a dress but didn’t want to shell out the money.  So I decided to make my own!  I made two sub par dresses, but they are getting me by.  Then I bought tons of cheap fabric while in Utah so I could create even more!  I am holding off on more sewing creations until next week when my sewing class begins (I’m sick of my sub par sewing so I need help!).  In order to fulfill my need to make stuff I have turned my focus to food.  The diet I was on for like a week made me be a little more creative in my food making processes.  I made this cracker (first picture) in my wonderful dehydrator I got for Christmas.  The cracker is 100 percent carrot juice, almonds, and basil.  The first day I wasn’t a huge fan of it, but since the flavors have mellowed a bit it’s a great snack.  Even better, my twenty month old extremely picky son will eat it (that’s when I know I’ve hit the jackpot!).

dsc04026

I also dehydrated some green apples and put cinnamon on them.  Costco was selling a bag of these for a ridiculous amount of money, and Carter liked them, so I decided to make my own.  As you can tell I added too much cinnamon (they are caked), but if you close your eyes and think happy thoughts this healthy snack is almost like you’re eating candy!

dsc04027

My all time, favoritest thing in the world to make right now is ALMOND MILK.  Thanks to the wonderful Kathryn Beiber I have acquired this skill.  We go through milk like candy, and I’m sick of paying so much money for it, so I decided to just make my own.  I would love to be able to buy almond milk, but it’s way too expensive, and if I buy the almonds from Costco, it’s pretty resonable if I make my own.  I thought I would share my knoweldge with you, since it’s so easy and taste absolutly wonderful (I don’t drink milk but I will drink this, and it’s the most wonderful thing to put in blueberry, or any, smoothies).  And the bonus, Carter acutally likes it!

dsc04024

dsc04025

So here’s how you do it:

1. Soak your almonds overnight in water (if you can do it in purified water, but I’m too cheap).

2. Drain your almonds and wash them off, get rid of the water you soaked the almonds in.

3. Measure your almonds out into a blender and then add double the amount of water (i.e. if you put in one cup of almonds add two cups of water).

4. Add 3-4 Dates, a small amount of cinnamon and vanilla (to taste).

5. BLEND

6. Pick up a small strainer, or do what I do and get a cheap paint thinner to drain your milk.  Drain your milk into a container.

7. That’s it!  You can keep the excess stuff let over after you have strained it to make stuff with as flour (I think, I am going to try this today, I’m pretty excited about it).

So try it out!  See if you love it as much as I do.  All that natural yummy fat is so good for you- Yea for fat!

 

2 Responses to “Maker I am”

  1. Krissie Cook Says:

    That’s what the problem was!

    If you look at #6, you might make the same mistake I did at about Carter’s age when I actually downed half a can of paint thinner (turpentine) and had to get my stomach pumped.

    Note to all parents: you can use a paint thinner to strain, but don’t use paint thinner. Your small child might get confused.

  2. […] Maker I Am January 15th, 2009 — “I am really into making things these days. It all started during Thanksgiving when I really wanted a dress but didn’t want to shell out the money. So I decided to make my own! I made two sub par dresses, but they are getting me by. Then I bought tons of cheap fabric while in […]” 1 Comment […]


Leave a Reply

