Everything I Am

A Little Room of My Own. A Place for Me to Create.

Frustrated I am November 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — hilaryemma @ 3:11 pm

A few things that are vexing me today:

1. I got a bad haircut yesterday.  Now it’s at least another month until I can look cute again.  That’s never fun.

2. I just found out my Sunday School lesson I have to teach next week is on chastity.  Teaching chasity to 12-14 year olds in Sunday School, what could be better right, or more awkward?  I remember a lesson given to me on chastity and it invovled oranges (the only other person who was there doesn’t read this blog), what do you get if you mix oranges and chastity: a lesson you’ll never forget!

3. I’m trying to decide whether to move apartments.  It’s a long story as to why, but it’s been the most stressful decision for me. And I just can’t figure out what to do.

4. Carter went to nursury for the first time today.  I realized it’s going to be a very traumatic day when I send that child to kindergarten (for me, not for him), I’m a little more attached than I previously realized.

Alright, and after all that whining I have to list some of the good that’s happening in my life:

1. My family is always the #1 good.  They rock.

2. My jobs have slowed down and I’m really enjoying being able to work.  That stress is gone.

3. I’m taking this awesome vegetarian class and I feel like I’ve learned so much valuable information to help me become a better chief.

4. Halloween was so much fun with an 18 month old.  It reminds me of the fun I had on holidays, and allows me to relive it all with Carter.

5. Carter is emerging from his whining/teething phase.  We are finally having fun again during the day.

Alright, my blessings outweigh my vexations, I’m good.

 

5 Responses to “Frustrated I am”

  1. christina Says:

    First of all, you always look great. I’m sure the only one who thinks it’s a bad haircut is you. 🙂
    The chasitity thing…well, that just plain sucks. But you’ll do well with it. You can handle it and make it light-hearted enough that they’ll listen to you.
    I promise you’ll get over sending Carter to Nursery. Just be happy that you don’t have to sit in there with him. We had to be in nursery with Hudson for almost a whole year…ugh.

    You have such a good attitude…even though you have vexations, you are level-headed enough to count your blessings. I need to be more like you.

    Good luck with those pesky vexations, though. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that everything works out. Can’t wait to see you for Thanksgiving!

  2. Christie Says:

    Ryan’s first Sunday as the 12 year old’s teacher was on chastity. Luckily the team teacher taught it. But maybe not luckily. The other teacher asked them what chastity meant but they were too embarrassed to answer. Apparently he was too because he moved RIGHT along w/o answering his own question. Good luck though. That’s a tough one. Also, I’m glad your jobs are getting better. And lastly, our stake conference was yesterday. Ryan turned to me and said, “Do you remember when Hilary wore that voodoo psychic shirt to stake conference?” It’s very shameful to be called out on inappropriateness by Ryan. Apparently your bad example deeply affected him since he still remembers.

  3. Jodi Says:

    don’t be silly, your haircut really was cute. You probably just think it looks bad because it wasn’t what you expected, but it was just fabulous. Moving apartments eh? What are your options?

  4. Vivian Says:

    Haha. I just taught the YW half of your class about the law of chastity a couple weeks ago. I’m glad you’re teaching it! You’ll be great. Its an important principle that they need to hear!

  5. Brandy Says:

    I’m intrigued…oranges and chastity??? 😉


Leave a Reply

